Recipe: Refried Beans

OK, so this probably seems like a strange topic for a blog considering the other topics I have blogged about so far. But there are a few reasons why I hope to put a few of my favorite recipes on here. The first is that God is glorified by all of the wonderful things that He made. Think about it: He made our eyes to be able to appreciate sunsets, He made our ears to be able to appreciate J. S. Bach or Bela Fleck or Shai Linne (or whoever your favorite is). He also made our minds able to appreciate the complexities of the creation – atoms, molecules, solar systems or molecular biology. In the same way He made our mouths and tongues to be able to appreciate a wide variety of flavors and foods. He could have made every food taste like water (or sawdust for that matter), but He didn’t, and at least one of the reasons why He didn’t is because He is a good God that made us to be amazed at His glorious creation and drawn to Him by the many, many daily acts of kindness He shows us.

A little less spiritual of a reason why I plan on putting some recipes on this blog is because I just enjoy good food. I grew up with an appreciation of visual arts and music, and what music is to the ear and drawing is to the eye, food is to the tongue. There are not many things that I enjoy like something done well, whether it is a painting or a pizza.

Lastly, to be honest I just can’t always find my recipes when I want to, so if I put them on here I will always know where to find them 🙂

So here is a really great easy refried bean recipe. I got it from my mother who used to cook it when I was growing up. I usually use canned beans, but you could buy a bag of dried beans and cook them yourself, and it might be a little cheaper.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans kindney Beans
  • About 2 T. oil for cooking
  • about 1/3 onion diced
  • about 1/2 – 1 T. minced garlic (if you but it already minced in a jar it is not as strong and you will want to use more)
  • about 1/3 or so cup of orange juice
  • Cumin powder
  • Soy Sauce

To make:

  1. Drain and rinse the beans and set them aside.
  2. Fry the onion and garlic in oil. Add cumin to taste.
  3. Add the beans and orange juice, and soy sauce to taste. Let it simmer for about 20 minutes.
  4. Mash the beans and serve.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

